Brewing Legends Since 1889
The history of Tui is a little speckled, partly because record keeping wasn’t up to scratch in those days and partly because Henry Wagstaff was much more passionate about brewing beer than writing about brewing beer.
The brewery has been around in one form or another since Wagstaff first set up shop on the banks of the Mangatainoka, but the most recognisable part, the Tui Tower has only been around since 1932.
Commissioned by a fancy Art Deco artist (because we like to be on the cutting edge) the Tui Tower was a marvel… such a marvel in fact that no one bothered to look inside until it was finished and the architect was on the boat back to France with his large sack of cash. Only then did we notice it had no stairs inside, rendering the upper levels useless.
Mildly embarrassed to show off our staircaseless tower, we built the Tui HQ to distract and entertain the punters who came knocking. Thinking of making the pilgrimage?
The best way to learn our iconic story is to stop by for a brewery tour. They run daily at 11.30am and 2.30pm.